RedDiceDiaries RPG Blog ๐ŸŽฒ

๐Ÿ—“๏ธ Dungeon23 Intro

If you're at all involved with RPGs on social media you've probably come across mention of Dungeon23, I've seen increasing mentions of it in the various Discords and Facebook groups I'm part of, as well as regular mentions on my Twitter feed. In-case you've someone missed it though, below is a brief explanation:

โ“ What is Dungeon23?

Dungeon23 is an idea posited by Sean McCoy back in early December 2022, you can see his original post about the idea by clicking here.

Essentially the idea is to create a mega-dungeon by creating a single dungeon room each day over the course of 2023, meaning a total of 365 rooms, with each months worth of rooms being a different level of the dungeon. The idea is to spur people to create something without putting undue pressure on them, Sean is keen to point out in his original post on the subject that even a simple room description or writing that a room is empty is fine if you don't have the time or any ideas for that day, he also says that random generators can be a great boom in this regard.

โœ๏ธ Additional Prompts

Sean has thoughtfully also provided a list of 52 weekly prompts to help get people off to a starting point, I have re-listed these below for convenience:

  1. Ancient
  2. Death
  3. Sunken
  4. Love
  5. Empire
  6. Heavy
  7. Rural
  8. Darkness
  9. Bloom
  10. Rust
  11. Noise
  12. Childhood
  13. Time
  14. Excess
  15. Decay
  16. City
  17. Factory
  18. Flood
  19. Sleep
  20. Cold
  21. Ash
  22. Touch
  23. Meat
  24. Solitude
  25. Growth
  26. Greed
  27. Luck
  28. Fall
  29. Pit
  30. Chaos
  31. Laughter
  32. Smoke
  33. Forgotten
  34. Library
  35. Ocean
  36. Song
  37. Roots
  38. Bones
  39. Hangman
  40. Blood
  41. Prophet
  42. Idol
  43. Door
  44. Light
  45. Stars
  46. Bridge
  47. Mask
  48. Cut
  49. Sacrifice
  50. Incense
  51. Rise
  52. Gold

๐Ÿ’ญ What am I going to do for Dungeon23?

Well, I'd love to say that I'm unfailingly going to create a room per day as per the initial suggestions and build a massive mega-dungeon, but in reality, I'm going to have days when I'm busy or suffer the normal creative ebbs and flows that we all go through so it seems a bit unlikely, so I've decided to take a slightly different route that will hopefully see me still arrive at roughly the same destination.

My current plan is effectively to create blocks of seven dungeon rooms on Saturday evening when I have some time free with every four of these blocks composing a level of the dungeon. Now before any of you point out that the maths doesn't quite track on this, I do know that but it's the best way I can fit it into my schedule.

There are 52 Saturdays in 2023, assuming I can create seven dungeon rooms each Saturday that will give me a total of 364 rooms (which is one short of the authors original 365 estimate, but I'm sure I can slip an additional room in one of the weeks), dividing the 364 by four (since I'm doing four blocks of rooms per level) will give me 91 levels in all.

I'm planning--all being well--to do my first block of seven rooms on Saturday 7th January 2023 and will be using the list of prompts that Sean kindly provided, so the theme of my first block of rooms will be Ancient.

Most likely I'll store my notes, maps, etc electronically so my plan is to post them in here as a I go along, and I may possibly make some podcast/youtube episodes concerning it depending on how I'm getting on for time.

Looking forward to the challenge ( อกโ›โ€ฏอœส– อกโ›)

#DND #Dungeon23 #Megadungeon #OSR #RDDRPG #RPG #RedDiceDiaries #SeanMcCoy #TTRPG